Recreation Trails

(608) 523-4427 (year-round) 
The Badger State Trail is a “Rails to Trails” trail extending 40 miles from Madison, WI to the Illinois state line intended for bicycles and hikers during warm months and snowmobiles and very limited ATV use during the winter. Flashlights and jackets are recommended for navigation through the Stewart Railroad Tunnel, near Monticello. 
Trail Facts:
  • Distance: 40 miles
  • Communities: Madison, Fitchburg, Basco, Belleville, Monticello, Monroe, Clarno
  • ADMISSION: State Trail Pass* required for bicycling and in-line skating
How to get there:
  • Monroe: Twining Park is next to the trail and has parking, picnic tables, shelters, ball fields, a bandshell and restrooms available.
  • Monticello: The Badger trail connects with the Sugar River trail just south of the Sugar River trail rest area in Monticello. Parking is available at the rest area near County Highways C and EE.

418 Railroad Street, New Glarus, Wisconsin 53574 
(608) 523-4427 (year-round) 
The Sugar River State Trail follows an abandoned railroad line in south central Wisconsin for 24 miles from New Glarus to Brodhead. A short access trail connects the Sugar River State Trail to New Glarus Woods State Park. 
Trail Facts:
  • Distance: 24 miles
  • Communities: New Glarus, Monticello, Albany, Brodhead
  • ADMISSION: State Trail Pass* required
How to get there:
  • New Glarus: Parking and restrooms are available at the New Glarus headquarters/depot just off State Highway 69 in New Glarus
  • Monticello: Parking is available at the Monticello trailhead near County Highway EE
  • Albany: Parking is available along city streets in Albany
  • Brodhead: Parking and restrooms are available at the southern terminus of the trail in Brodhead

(608) 776-5706
47 Miles from Monroe to Mineral Point (Iowa County). Heavily used by ATVs, dirt bikes, quads; snowmobiles in winter. Also open to horses, bicyclists, and hikers. Bicyclists should be aware that the trail surface is extremely rough in some areas. Mountain bikes are recommended. Trail enthusiasts should be cautious of various users traveling at different speeds. 
Trail Facts:
  • Distance: 47 miles
  • Communities: Monroe, Mineral Point
  • ADMISSION: Cheese Country Trail Stickers* are required for all licensed or unlicensed motorcycles, mopeds, golf carts, mules, odyssey, go-carts, dirt bikes.
  • Hours: The trail is open to ATVs year round, providing that trail conditions are conducive to ATV operation in the winter season. The trail is always closed to ATVs from 1am to 5am in any season. ATV routes throughout the city of Monroe are closed from 11pm to 7am. The trail is open to snowmobiles when there is at least 4 inches of snow.
How to get there: 
  • Monroe: From SOUTH (Illinois) on Hwy 69, turn left at the first stoplight. Follow the brown trail signs (ATV icon) for about 1/2 mile. From EAST (Beloit, Janesville) on Hwy 11/81, exit Hwy 69 south. Go through two stoplights. At the third stoplight, turn right onto 21st Street. Follow the brown trail signs for about 1/2 mile. The parking lot is at the intersection of 21st Street and 4th Avenue West.
                                                        Trail Pass Information 
State Trail pass is required when using the Badger State or Sugar River Trails for all people age 16 or older biking, in-line skating, horseback riding, cross-country skiing or off-highway motorcycling on certain trails.  State trail pass cost $25/year and $5/day.  Trail passes may be purchased online at or at Walmart, 300 6th Ave W, (608) 325-7701.
Cheese Country Trail sticker is required for all licensed or unlicensed motorcycles, mopeds, golf  carts, go-carts, and dirt bikes, bicycle and horse riders 18 years of age and over using Cheese Country Trail.  Stickers are available at the Lucky 7 and Kundert Oil gas stations in Monroe.
Trail Passes:  Snowmobile Trail $30 WI Resident, $50 Non-Resident
  ATV: WI Residents must be registered, $35 Non-Resident

State Park Stickers
 must be purchased directly at the State park, or online at  Cost is $28 Resident Annual; $38 Non-resident.